2020 Assessment Institute

Categories: Meetings and Conferences

Date: 10/25/2020 - 10/27/2020
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM

Location: Indianapolis Marriott Downtown Hotel

We would like to extend to you and your colleagues an invitation to join us for the 2020 Assessment Institute in Indianapolis, October 25-27, 2020, at the Indianapolis Marriott Downtown Hotel. The Assessment Institute, hosted by IUPUI, is the nation’s oldest and largest higher education event of its type, offering more than 200 educational sessions! Typically, the Institute attracts more than 1,000 participants from all 50 states and several other countries, with over 400 colleges, universities, and organizations represented.

We are pleased to announce Teresa Leyba Ruiz, President Glendale Community College, as the 2020 Plenary speaker, as well as Pat Hutchings, Senior Scholar, National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment (NILOA) and Senior Scholar, Bay View Alliance (BVA), as the recipient of the Trudy W. Banta Lifetime Achievement in Assessment Award.

The Institute will feature special track keynote presentations, sessions, and workshops emphasizing assessment in:
  • Community Engagement – Coordinators: Kristin Norris, IUPUI; and H. Anne Weiss, Indiana Campus Compact
  • Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion – Coordinators: Michele J. Hansen and Corinne C. Renguette, IUPUI
  • Faculty Development – Coordinators: Kyle Fassett, Krista Hoffmann-Longtin, and Megan Palmer, IUPUI
  • Global Learning – Coordinators: Leslie Bozeman and Hilary Kahn, IUPUI; Dawn Whitehead, Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U); and Darla Deardorff, Association of International Education Administrators (AIEA)
  • Graduate/Graduate Professional Education – Coordinators: Shawn Boyne, Iowa State University; Jeff Barbee, IUPUI; and Sarah Zahl, Marian University
  • Amy Powell, and Jennifer Thorington-Springer, IUPUI; Matt Lexow, Southwest Tennessee Community College; Ken O'Donnell, California State University, Dominguez Hills; Jo-Ellen Becco and Robin Schofield, Pikes Peak Community College; and Michael Stephenson, Texas A&M University
  • Learning Improvement – Coordinator: Keston Fulcher, James Madison University
  • NILOA – Coordinator: Natasha Jankowski, National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment (NILOA)
  • STEM Education – Coordinators: Anthony Chase, IUPUI; Nicholas Curtis, Marquette University; and Wayne J. Hilson, Jr., Cornell University
  • Student Affairs Programs and Services – Coordinators: Caleb Keith, Sonia Ninon, Johnny Pryor, and Linda Wardhammar, IUPUI

In addition, we will present sessions with national assessment leaders, a poster session, Rise-and-Shine 20-minute sessions, and additional learning and networking opportunities emphasizing:
  • Accreditation
  • Assessment in General Education
  • Assessment in All Major Fields
  • Assessment Methods
  • Assessment in Community Colleges
  • Assessment in Online Courses and Programs
  • Competency-Based Education and Assessment
  • Emerging Trends in Assessment
  • Institution-Wide Data Collection/Use
  • Leadership for Assessment
  • Use of Technologies in Assessment
To see the full listing of partner organizations making an intellectual contribution to the Assessment Institute, go to: https://assessmentinstitute.iupui.edu/overview/partners.html

Assessment Institute Partner Organizations