Award Winners

The Tony Quinn Inclusive Excellence award is given annually to an individual who embodies Dr. Quinn's commitment to mentoring students and his passion for increasing the participation of URM students in STEM. Read more about the Tony Quinn award on The 2020 award recipient is Mr. Luis Cedeño-Rosario, doctoral student at The University of Toledo. Learn more about Luis' contributions to the community through leadership and service.

Top Bridge to the Doctorate Oral Presenter

Roger Simon, Doctoral Student, Aerospace Engineering at Texas A&M University - College Station; TAMUS BD Fellow "Water Interface Unsteadiness and Vortex Shedding in Wind-Driven Droplet Wakes"

Top Graduate Student Poster Winner

Jacob Garcia, Ph.D. Candidate, Chemistry at Arizona State University; Post-Bridge to Doctorate Fellow, WAESO LSAMP "Electron Dynamics of Neutral Transition Metal Oxide Clusters using Femtosecond Pump Probe Spectroscopy"

Top Undergraduate Poster Winners

1st - Ivan Chavez, Senior, Biological Sciences at UCLA "Strongyloides Parasitic Nematodes Display Life-stage-specific Responses to Bacteria"

2nd - Chuma M. Humphrey, Senior, Biological Sciences at Truman University; MoLSAMP Scholar " Effect of STZ Concentration on Chemoreflex Function and the nTS in STZ-Induced Morphology of AD"

3rd - Shyrisse Ramos, Senior, Chemical Sciences at Columbus State University; Southwest Georgia LSAMP Scholar "Chemical Investigations of Pasaquan and Interdisciplinary Paint Restoration"

People’s Choice Poster Winner

Portrait of Chuma Humphrey smiling at the camera.
Chuma Humphrey, 2nd Place Poster Winner
Portrait of Rachel Luu smiling at the camera.
Rachel Luu, People's Choice Poster Winner